Fatehpur Sikri

Must Read

UC Browser Concentrating on Short-Form Content

UC Browser, a web browser developed by UCWeb, the Chinese mobile Internet company owned by the Alibaba Group, has...

List of Prestigious Bharat Ratna Award Winners (1954 – 2019)

Bharat Ratna: This is the highest award honored in India. It is provided to those who have made exceptional...

Rajinikanth Opposes Amit Shah’s One Country One Language

Chennai: Rajinikanth, a veteran actor, said Wednesday that the concept of a common language in India is not possible...

Fatehpur Sikri is a Mughal Fort constructed by Sikriwal Rajput Rajas last Emperor Maharana Sangram Singh. Sikri an extension of the upper Vindhyan ranges is situated on the bank of a large natural lake, which has now mostly dried up.

Fatehpur Sikri Information

Fatehpur Sikri is yet another Mughal Jewel located in Agra district of India. Fatehpur Sikri got its name from its original ruler, The Skiriwal Rajputs. It is actually a small city and is located near the old Sikri.

Agra is full of historical monuments like Taj Mahal and Humayun’s Tomb. Fatehpur Sikri is yet another Mughal endeavor in Agra which draws a lot of tourist attention due to its high-class Mughal Architecture and its important place in history.

Maharana Sangram Singh was the last Rajput ruler of Fatehpur Sikri in 1500 AD. After that the Muslims invaded, conquered and ruled over this place.

History of Fatehpur Sikri

Fatehpur Sikri was built by the last emperor Maharana Sangram Singh of Sikriwal Rajput Rajas since 1500. At the 7th attack of Akbar, Sikriwal Rajput left Palace after that Sikrigarh was named Fateh(victory)pur Sikri.

Akbar was the first Mughal Emperor to rule over Fatehpur Sikri. He attacked this place seven times before the Sikriwal Rajputs finally fled and it was under Akbar’s territory.

Fatehpur Sikri was Akbar’s capital from 1571 to 1585. Earlier Agra was Akbar’s capital and after the birth of his second child Jahangir, in 1571, Akbar decided to move his capital from Agra to Fatehpur. He did so to honor the holy saint “Salim Chisti”.

This led to the construction of a Fatehpur Sikri, with all sort of fortifications, palaces, battlements, mosques, harems, private quarters, utility buildings, etc.

Akbar chose the Urdu word “Fateh” for this palace because this word has its roots in the Persian language and actually means “victory”. Therefore, it came to be known as the Fatehpur Sikri.

In fact, this is the place where the famous “nine jewels of Akbar” resided. The construction of Fatehpur Sikri was said to be complete at the staring of the 16th century.

Fatehpur Sikri is one of the most well preserved Mughal Architecture monuments in India. This place is a reminder or the Mughal grandeur and royalty.

The Architecture of Fatehpur Sikri

Fatehpur Sikri is situated on top of a rocky ridge. It is surrounded by thick walls or fortifications on three sides while the 3rd side was protected by a lake at that time. It is 3 kilometers long and 1 kilometer wide. The 3 walls run along 11 kilometers each.

The architecture was Tuhir Das, an Indian and therefore the architecture of this place has an Indian touch to it. The building follows the Indian principles of architecture. It has been said that the architecture of Fatehpur Sikri is similar to the architecture of some regional schools and buildings in Gujarat and Bengal.

Also, read: Beautiful Monuments of India

The reason behind this is because the construction of Fatehpur Sikri used labor and craftsman from states like Gujarat, Bengal, etc.

Some of the important places inside the Fatehpur Sikri include the Buland Darwaza, Jama Masjid, Tomb of Salim Chisti, Diwan-i-Am, Diwan-i-Khas, Ibadat Khana, Anup Talao, Marian-uz-Zamani’s Palace, the Naubat Khana, Pachisi Court, Panch Mahal, Birbal’s House.

These are some of the stupendous architectures present inside the complex of Fatehpur Sikri. For example, the Buland Darwaza is 54 meters high and the Jama Masjid is Friday mosque and one of the oldest buildings in the complex. This place is a must-visit if you are visiting Agra.

Entrance Fee:

Indian Citizens and visitors of SAARC (Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Pakistan, and Afghanistan) and BIMSTEC Countries (Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Thailand, Sri Lanka, and Myanmar) – Rs. 10/head.

US $ 5 or Indian Rs. 250/- per head (ASI);
Rs. 10/- per head (ADA)
Rs. 500/- ticket of ADA purchased at Taj Mahal is valid for the monuments of Agra Fort, Akbar’s Tomb, Itimadi-ud-daula, Sikandara and Fatehpur Sikri.
(Free for children up to 15 years old)


Latest News

Common Myths About Virtual Reality

Myths About Virtual Reality: For some people, the words "Augmented Reality" mean very little. It's too complicated and futuristic,...

Rajinikanth Opposes Amit Shah’s One Country One Language

Chennai: Rajinikanth, a veteran actor, said Wednesday that the concept of a common language in India is not possible and said that any attempt...

India Plans to Import Oil From Russia After Saudi Attack: Dharmendra Pradhan

NEW DELHI: The world's largest publicly traded oil company, OAO Rosneft, said Tuesday it would help India in its energy security efforts in the...

A New Project by Govt Using Drones, AI and Big Data in Surveying Entire India

Tech News: India has launched a 10-centimeter digital mapping project in the country using drones and technologies such as artificial intelligence and big data,...

Dipa Karmakar’s Tokyo Dreams Almost Over – Requires Two More Months to Recover

NEW DELHI: The hopes of Indian gymnast Dipa Karmakar to compete in the Tokyo Games seem to be over after the Tripura girl did...

More Articles Like This