Freedom Fighters in Karnataka

Freedom Fighters in Karnataka, List of Freedom Fighters in Karnataka, top 10 freedom fighters in kannada, freedom fighters of india with names and details in kannada, female freedom fighters of india in kannada language

This is a List of Freedom Fighters in Karnataka who took leadership roles during India’s freedom struggle against the British.

It is important to remember that at the time of the freedom of India (in 1947), there was no Karnataka as we know it today. Instead, it dispersed into 20 different administrative blocks, kingdoms and administrations.

At this moment I want to remember and share with you the great personalities who sacrificed their entire life for the Freedom of India and Unite Karnataka.

Many Karnataka leaders who are directly or indirectly involved in the freedom movement, I try to gather all the information and you presented it to you, this list will not be static, I will update it again and again when it is researched.

I wanted to highlight these freedom fighters because, when we ask someone they will say about, Mahatma Gandhi, Subhash Chandra Bose, etc. but when it comes to local region people don’t remember much of them, so to educate the students and researchers this article will be helpful.

We did not obtain freedom only through the effort of one or two people, millions of people contributed to the struggle. So I am proud to be able to name some Karnataka freedom fighters today.

List of Freedom Fighters in Karnataka

1. Kittur Rani Chennamma

Kittur Rani Chennamma

She was the first female activist for the Independence of India who fought against the British Empire.

Chennamma could not beat them but she inspired many women to rise against British rule in the country. She was the Queen of the princely state Kittur in Karnataka.

2. Sangolli Rayanna

Sangolli RayannaHe was the leading the Army of the Kingdom of Kittur, which was ruled by Rani Chennamma and fought against British East India Company in 1824.

He kept on fighting even after the queen was imprisoned, but at last, he was caught and hanged in 1932. We remember for his braveness and loyalty towards his kingdom.

3. Umabai Kundapur

Umabai Kundapur

She was the lady of Hubli district who organized large volunteers at the time of freedom struggle, encouraged local women who were not stepped out of their home.

During her childhood, she moved to Mumbai with her family. Jallianwalla Bagh’s incidents made changed her route of life and joined the freedom movement with great revolutionaries.

4. Karnad Sadashiva Rao

Karnad Sadashiva Rao

He is a freedom fighter from the state of Karnataka. He was also from a wealthy Mangalorean family born in 1881. He was involved in the Indian Independence Movement and with his wife Shantabai’s support, he founded Mahila Sabha to help poor women and widows.

He was a true follower of Mahatma Gandhi, On the way of Hampankatta circle to Bishop house located in Mangalore city, is named after him. Also Sadhashivnagar in Bengaluru.

5. Tipu Sultan

Tipu SultanTipu Sultan, also known as the Mysore Tiger, ruled the Mysore Kingdom from 1782 to 1799. He was also a scholar, soldier, and poet.

Tipu was the first son of Hyder Ali of Mysore and his wife Fatima Fakhr-un-Nisa. He was born to a Muslim family. He fought many battles with the British and took French support initially.

6. Onake Obavva

7. Muduvidu Krishnarao

8. Kamaladevi Chattopadhaya

9. N.S. Hardikar

10. V.N. O’key

11. Yashodhara Dasappa

12. Hyder Ali

13. Ranganath Diwakar

14. K.G. Gokhale

15. R.S. Hukkerikar

16. Sugandhi Murigappa Siddappa

17. T. Subramanyam

18. Tayamma Veerannagowda

19. Mahadevitayi Dodmane

20. Bellary Siddamma

21. Gowramma Venkataramayya

22. Nittur Srinivasa Rao

23. Narayan S. Rajpurohit

24. G.R. Pandeshwar

25. Shantakavi

26. Alur Venkata Rao

27. Ranganath Diwakar

28. Abbakka Chowta

29. Gangadharrao Deshpande

30. Govindrao Yalagi

31. Srinivasrao Kaujalagi of Vijapur

32. Kamaladevi Chattopadhyaya

33. Nagamma Patil


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



What do you think?

Written by Chethan M

"Follow Your Passion"
I am a professional blogger, my aim is to help millions of students to get the right information at the right time.

List of National Symbols of India, National Symbols of India, National Anthem of India, National Animal of India, National Tree of India, National Song of India, National Flag of India, National Bird of India, National Flower of India, National Fruit of India, National Emblem of India, National Game of India, National Aquatic Animal of India, National Vegetable of India, National Calendar of India, National Pledge of India, National Currency of India, National Reptile of India, National River of India, National Microbe of India

National Symbols of India

Freedom Fighters in Tamilnadu, List of Freedom Fighters in Tamilnadu, female freedom fighters of tamilnadu, list of female freedom fighters in tamil nadu, tamil nadu freedom fighters names, tamil nadu freedom fighters names with pictures

Freedom Fighters in Tamilnadu