Rivers in Karnataka

List of Rivers in Karnataka, Rivers in Karnataka, karnataka rivers information, karnataka rivers and dams, how many rivers in karnataka name them, Krishna River, Kaveri River, Ghataprabha River, Malaprabha River, Bhima River, Tungabhadra River, Doni River, Arkavati River, Suvarnavathi River, Hemavati River, Harangi River, Kabini River, Shimsha River, Palar River, Kali River, Gangavalli River, Sharavati River, Aghanashini River, Netravati River, Varahi River, Sita River, Swarna River, Mahadayi River, Manjira River
Rich Karnataka Water Sources

There are 7 main river systems in Karnataka, with their tributaries: Godavari, Krishna, Cauvery, North Pennar, South Pennar, Palar, and West Flowing Rivers.

We are lucky to have so many rivers in Karnataka, the state consist of Rivers due to its geographical location, Western Ghats, Coastal Regions, and many other reasons.

Most of the River water is used for drinking purpose, agriculture, Industry and used as a source of hydroelectric power, and are used for transportation in some areas.

Most of the rivers come from the Western Ghats and head towards the east direction of the state. These are some of the largest rivers in the state and flow into the Bay of Bengal. As a result, almost all major rivers in the east are inter-state rivers.

List of Rivers in Karnataka

The rivers are mainly classified into 3 main river basins, such as Krishna basin, Kaveri basin, Godavari basin, and others. Here is the information on the list of rivers in Karnataka:

1. Krishna River

Krishna River, List of Rivers in Karnataka

River Source: Maharashtra.

States Covered: Maharashtra, Karnataka & Andhra Pradesh.

Districts Covered: Ballari, Bijapur, Chitradurga, Gulbarga, Raichur, Kopala, Bagalkot, Gadag, Belgaum and more.

Dams: Almatti & Narayanpura Dam in Bijapur District.

Sub-Tributaries: Bhima, Koyna, Ghataprabha, Malaprabha, Tungabhadra, and Doni.

Total Length: 483 Km.

Size: 1,13,030 Sq Km.

2. Kaveri River

Kaveri River

River Source: Talakaveri in Kodagu, Karnataka.

States Covered: Karnataka, Tamilnadu, Kerala, and Puducherry.

Districts Covered: Kodagu, Mysore, Mandya, Hassan, Chikkamagaluru, and Bengaluru.

Sub-Tributaries: Harangi, Hemavati, Shimsha, Arkavati, Lakshmana Tirtha, Kabini, Bhavani,

Amaravati, and Suvarnavathi.

Dams: Krishna Raja Sagara Dam(Mandhya)

Waterfalls: Gaganachukki, Bharachukki, Chunchanakatte, Shivanasamudra, and Hogenakkal Falls.

Meeting Place: Kaveripattinam, Tamilnadu (with River Kaveri).

Total Length: 320 Km.

Size: 36,139 Sq Km.

3. Ghataprabha River

Ghataprabha River

River Source: Ratnagiri, Maharashtra.

States Covered: Maharashtra, and Karnataka.

Meeting Place: Near Alamatti (with River Krishna)

Districts Covered: Belgaum and Bagalkot.

Sub-Tributaries: Hiranyakeshi and Markandeya.

Dams: Hidkal dam.

Waterfalls: Hidkal Falls.

Total Length: 216 Km.

Size: 8829 sq Km.

4. Malaprabha River

Malaprabha River

River Source: Kanakumbi, Khanapura Taluk, Belgaum District, Karnataka.

States Covered: Karnataka.

Districts Covered: Belgaum and Bagalkot.

Meeting Place: Kudala Sangama (with River Krishna)

Sub-Tributaries: Navilatirtha, Benni Halla, Hirehalla River, etc.

Dams: Malaprabha Dam.

Total Length: 304 Km.

Size: 11,540 sq Km.

5. Bhima River

Bhima River

River Source: Bhima Shankar, Maharashtra.

States Covered: Maharashtra and Karnataka.

Districts Covered: Bijapur, Gulbarga, and Raichur.

Meeting Place: Jaladurga in Maharashtra (with River Krishna)

Sub-Tributaries: Bennithora

Total Length: 298 Km.

Size: 18,315 sq Km.

6. Tungabhadra River

Tungabhadra River

River Source: Kudli Village, Shimoga District, Karnataka.

States Covered: Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and Karnataka.

Districts Covered: Shimoga, Haveri, Davanagere, Chitradurga, Chikkamagaluru, Ballari.

Sub-Tributaries: Kumudvathi, Varada, Vedavathi, Swarnamukhi, etc.

Dams: Anjanapura, Tunga, Bhadra, Vani Vilasa.

Meeting Place: Kurnool district, Andra Pradesh(with River Krishna)

Total Length: 483 Km.

Size: 1,13,030 sq Km.

7. Doni River

Doni River

River Source: Datta patana, Maharashtra.

States Covered: Maharashtra and Karnataka.

Districts Covered: Belgaum, Bijapur, and Gulbarga.

Waterfalls: Chaya Bhagavathi Falls (122 m height)

Total Length: 176 Km.

8. Arkavati River

Arkavati River, List of Rivers in Karnataka

River Source: Nandi Hills of Chikkaballapur district, Karnataka.

States Covered: Karnataka

Districts Covered: Chikkaballapur, Kolar and Bengaluru.

Sub-Tributaries: Kumudavathi, Suvarnamukhi, and Vrishabhavathi.

Meeting Place:  Kanakapura, Ramanagara District (with River Kaveri)

Dams: Arkavathi Dam, Ramanagara.

Total Length: 161 Km.

Size: 4351 sq Km.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



What do you think?

Written by Chethan M

"Follow Your Passion"
I am a professional blogger, my aim is to help millions of students to get the right information at the right time.

Prohibition of Sex Selection, Ultrasound, Pre Conception and Pre-Natal Diagnostic Techniques Act, PCPNDT Act

Pre Conception and Pre-Natal Diagnostic Techniques (PCPNDT) Act

Red Fort, Red Fort Information, History of Red Fort, Architecture of Red Fort, Timings, Facts, Red Fort Delhi

Red Fort (New Delhi) – History, Information, Architecture, etc.